What does the Trust do?

The YMPST was set up after the 2012 York Mystery Plays 2012 in the Museum Gardens in recognition of the community’s wish to see the Plays continue and to participate in them. We are a charitable incorporated organisation which exists to advance the education of the public in the medieval Mystery Plays of York and supports all performances of the Plays in York.

What is the York Mystery Plays Supporters Trust about?

  • Developed a website bringing together all the main sources of information about the Plays and their history

  • Produced regular newsletters – read across the globe

  • Represented the Plays at conferences and seminars

  • Raised funds to support performances of the plays

  • Produced its own Waggon Plays in 2014 and 2018 as part of York’s Festival Trust’s pageant

York Mystery Plays Supporters Trust raising funds at St Crux
  • Staged A Nativity for York at the Spurriergate Centre in December 2019, the first of what is planned to be an annual production

  • Organised trips to performances of Plays in other cities

  • Worked with the University of York to develop courses and public lectures

  • Supported York Minster with the community launch of the 2016 production

Joining the Trust gives you access to the latest information about the Plays and become part of a group of supporters; membership fees (£10 per annum) support the administration of the Trust, enabling our fundraising activities to contribute directly to performances.

YMPST Committee

Linda Terry - York Mystery Plays Supporters Trust

Linda Terry
Chair of the Trust
linda.terry@ympst.co.uk

Maurice Crichton - York Mystery Plays Supporters Trust

Maurice Crichton
Secretary/Safeguarding
maurice.crichton@ympst.co.uk

Phil Turner - York Mystery Plays Supporters Trust

Phil Turner
Treasurer & Membership
phil.turner@ympst.co.uk

Gary Bateson - York Mystery Plays Supporters Trust

Gary Bateson
Fundraising
gary.bateson@ympst.co.uk

Ged Murray - York Mystery Plays Supporters Trust

Ged Murray
Grants & Funding
ged.murray@ympst.co.uk

Simon Tompsett - York Mystery Plays Supporters Trust

Simon Tompsett
Production Coordinator
simon.tompsett@ympst.co.uk

Colin Lea - York Mystery Plays Supporters Trust

Colin Lea
Committee Member
colin.lea@ympst.co.uk

Anna Briggs - York Mystery Plays Supporters Trust

Anna Briggs
Committee Member
anna.briggs@ympst.co.uk

David Denbigh - York Mystery Plays Supporters Trust

David Denbigh
Committee Member
david.denbigh@ympst.co.uk